Books

 

A richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. This young girl’s thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Lauren St John or Polly Ho-Yen.

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl’s thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12.

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. ‘Dalai Lama.’

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash’s parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet – and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India.

And so, with a backpack of Tash’s father’s mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting – all the ingredients of a smashing adventure. — Abi Elphinstone

A wonderful story of courage and hope. — Amy Wilson, author of A GIRL CALLED OWL

A powerful, compelling story of hope, wisdom and compassion… — Steve Voake

A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. — Sarah Webb, Irish Independent

With a cover that sings of sunrise and adventure, and inside pages that hold intricate print designs and hidden yaks, this is a beautiful book to own. An eye-opening and somewhat different read. — Minerva Reads

This beautifully designed book is a richly atmospheric story of friendship, courage and survival. — Anna McKerrow, BookTrust

…one of those stories that gives its young readers an honest understanding of some of the awful things that go on in the world, but balances that understanding with a narrative of survival and hope… — Jill Murphy, The Book Bag

This is a fantastic book which is relevant to today’s crises: refugees, conflict and children growing up in war zones. Although there’s danger, gruelling journeys and battles to survive, there is also hope, and hope is the essence of Tash’s story. — Type Writers

A story of adventure, survival and hope — Angels and Urchins

A captivatingly classic adventure. — Love Reading 4 Kids

A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. — Irish Independent (Weekend Review)

There’s inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding. — The Guardian

This is a wonderfully fast-paced read that’s a celebration of courage and integrity in the face of danger, and the importance of standing up for what you believe in. — Scoop

COMING APRIL 2018…

WHEN THE MOUNTAINS ROARED

WTMR

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we’d live here forever … but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby’s dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home – not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up.

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them – if she can only overcome her fears…